Archive: Eight countries to pay superlevy totalling €409 million

Published 8 October 14

This page has been archived and no longer updated. more info

The European Commission has confirmed that eight countries will have to pay super levies as a result of overshooting quota in the 2013/14 milk year. Super levies for Germany, the Netherlands, Poland, Denmark, Austria, Ireland, Cyprus and Luxembourg total around €409 million. Around a third of this is attributed to the Netherlands, which also faces an additional fine of €918,000 for exceeding its quota of direct sales at farm level. As a whole, the EU remained 4.6% under quota, with the UK underutilising its quota by 10.6%.