Archive: Three New Board Members Appointed for AHDB

Published 2 October 14

This page has been archived and no longer updated. more info

The Government has appointed three new members to the Board of the Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB) with effect from 1 October 2014. 

Gwyn Jones and Gary Taylor, in addition to their corporate Board role, will also chair AHDB’s DairyCo sector board and HDC sector board respectively; Professor Ian Crute has been appointed as an independent with science expertise to help inform the Board’s decisions on research and knowledge exchange. 

They replace Tim Bennett (dairy) who finished on 30 March 2014; Neil Bragg (horticulture) and Lorraine Clinton (independent) who both finished on 30 September 2014. 

AHDB Chairman Peter Kendall said: “I’m delighted to welcome these three to the AHDB Board – they are each experts in their field and also share my passion for our farming and food industry. 

“I look forward to working with them on how AHDB provides farmers and growers with the tools to make the most of growing domestic and global demand.” 

The appointments have been made jointly by Ministers in the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra), the Scottish Government, the Welsh Government and the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development for Northern Ireland. 

Gwyn Jones said: “This is an exciting time for UK agriculture, with opportunities for forward thinking businesses. AHDB has a vital role to play and I’m thrilled to be involved.” 

Gary Taylor said: “I look forward to helping to steer and shape the work of this important levy board so it continues to deliver real benefit for levy payers and the wider industry.” 

Ian Crute said: “After five fulfilling years as AHDB’s chief scientist I am more convinced than ever that the functions the levy board undertakes are an essential contribution to ensuring we have an innovative and competitive food and farming industry in the UK. I am looking forward enormously to continuing my involvement with AHDB in this new role.” 

Peter Kendall commented: “I would like to thank Lorraine, Neil, and Tim profusely for the work they have carried out on behalf of AHDB.” 

Gwyn Jones:

Gwyn Jones is a dairy farmer and has been farming in West Sussex for over 30 years, running a 350 cow herd, with a 1.5 Megawatt Anaerobic Digester integrated in the farm business. A Nuffield Scholar and Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Society of England, Mr Jones also has a long history as an active member of the NFU holding National Office for several years as the NFU National Dairy Board chairman and then Vice President. 

Gwyn was born into a farming family in North Wales and trained as an engineer before returning to agriculture in Wales.  He ran the beef and sheep units at Moulton College of Agriculture, before moving to West Sussex. 

Gwyn is Chairman of RUMA (Responsible Use of Medicines in Agriculture), Chairman of EPRUMA (The European equivalent of RUMA), an active member of the Farm Animal Welfare Council (FAWC), Vice Chairman of the COPA-Cogeca Animal Health and Welfare Working Group, member of the British Veterinary Association (BVA) Welfare and Ethics Group, and a member of the University of Surrey School of Veterinary Medicine’s External Liaison and Advisory Committee.

For the full article vist the AHDB website


Related Links & Publications